Facebook

Histoire

Un aperçu de l'histoire de la Fondation des écrivains canadiens,
par Sandra Campbell.

La Fondation des écrivains canadiens inc. (FEC) / The Canadian Writers’ Foundation (CWF) est un organisme caritatif sans but lucratif fondé en 1931 pour soutenir financièrement les auteurs canadiens âgés qui ont besoin d’aide à cause de leur âge ou d’une maladie chronique. La Fondation est actuellement dirigée par un conseil d’administration formé de huit membres non rémunérés, qui se réunissent à Ottawa. Elle bénéficie des services de nombreux conseillers dans tout le Canada. Elle offre aux auteurs canadiens francophones et anglophones dans le besoin des pensions et des subventions ponctuelles, tirées sur un fonds de dotation. L’identité des bénéficiaires reste confidentielle leur vie durant. Des auteurs de renom, notamment Dorothy Livesay, Scott Symons, Yves Thériault, Norman Levine, Mavis Gallant, Irving Layton et beaucoup d’autres ont ainsi été pensionnés, pendant un temps considérable pour la plupart.

Créé en 1931 sous le nom de Fondation des auteurs canadiens par le Pr Pelham Edgar du Collège Victoria (Université de Toronto) et ses amis de tout le pays, l’organisme philanthropique a été constitué en société le 2 mars 1945 et rebaptisé Fondation des écrivains canadiens inc. (Campbell, 1983) . Dans un ouvrage intitulé The Foundation and the Man (publié en 1959 et réimprimé en 2007), Walter Dawson (pseudonyme de Donald W. Thompson), chroniqueur de la Fondation, rappelait que ses objectifs, tels qu’ils sont énoncés dans la déclaration de fiducie, sont entre autres « de créer, doter et faire croître un fonds perpétuel à l’intention des auteurs réputés, hommes et femmes, y compris les personnes à leur charge, ainsi que de toute personne qui se trouverait dans l’indigence après avoir contribué de manière remarquable à la littérature canadienne . » C’est le mandat qui anime la Fondation, ses administrateurs et ses sympathisants depuis le début, en dépit des difficultés de financement des premières années.

HISTOIRE

Au Canada, l’écriture a toujours été une profession précaire. Un grand nombre d’écrivains accomplis vivent sous le seuil de la pauvreté, malgré le droit d’auteur et les revenus d’autres sources, d’autant qu’aucune mesure ne leur assure une retraite professionnelle. Les subventions du Conseil des arts du Canada et d’autres organismes de même que le paiement de redevances financées par le gouvernement pour les livres en bibliothèque, par exemple, sont de création relativement récente. Par ailleurs, le mécénat privé n’est pas aussi bien établi ou répandu qu’aux États-Unis, notamment. Enfin, à la différence de la Grande-Bretagne, le Canada n’a jamais établi de liste civile pour venir en aide aux auteurs dans le besoin. Notons toutefois que le Québec a toujours été plus disposé que le reste du Canada à aider ses auteurs.

Charles G.D. Robers

Charles G.D. Roberts,
Archives
de l'Université Queen’s

La Fondation des écrivains canadiens a été inspirée par la situation de l’un des poètes canadiens les plus réputés du tournant du XIXe siècle. En effet, peu de temps avant la Grande dépression, au terme d’un séjour de quelques décennies à l’étranger, Charles G.D. Roberts (1860-1943), père de la poésie canadienne d’après la Confédération, revint au Canada déjà âgé et pratiquement dépourvu de ressources. Roberts et Bliss Carman (1861-1929), son cousin et poète célèbre lui aussi, avaient donc en commun leur réputation d’écrivains mais également leur habilité à se tirer d’affaires avec peu de moyens et à obtenir des prêts personnels d’admirateurs du Canada et d’ailleurs. Pourquoi avaient-ils développé ce talent? Le marché littéraire canadien était très petit à l’époque, et les lecteurs dispersés sur un vaste territoire, sans compter diverses anomalies du droit d’auteur préjudiciables à nombre écrivains de ce pays.

Raymond C. Hull

Pelham Edgar,
Bibliothèque
de l'Université Victoria
(Toronto)

Professeur au Département d’anglais du Collège Victoria, Pelham Edgar (1871-1948), bien connu dans les premières années du XXe siècle comme critique littéraire et mentor d’E.J. Pratt, Duncan Campbell Scott, Raymond Knister et Northrop Frye entre autres auteurs, résolut, en plein cœur de la Grande dépression, de trouver un moyen d’aider financièrement Roberts, qui vivait bien précairement à Toronto depuis le milieu des années 1920. En 1931, il entreprit des démarches dans tout le Canada, aidé par un laissez-passer que lui avait accordé John Murray Gibbon, homme de lettres et administrateur des chemins de fer du Canadien Pacifique. Il réussit à convaincre des bibliophiles et des philanthropes canadiens, y compris P.D. Ross, éditeur de quelques journaux de la ville d’Ottawa, Duncan Campbell Scott, fonctionnaire et poète, Emily Murphy, magistrate de police et auteure albertaine (sous le nom de plume Janey Canuck), et beaucoup d’autres, de demander au gouvernement fédéral une aide financière au nom de Roberts.

Grâce aux pressions persistantes du Pr Edgar auprès du gouvernement fédéral et de Lord Bessborough, le gouvernement Conservateur de R. B. Bennett finit par accorder au poète une rente annuelle, établie pour commencer à 2500 dollars. Fait révélateur : la somme fut d’abord présentée dans les prévisions budgétaires fédérales comme un fonds alloué à la Fondation pour la rédaction d’un rapport sur l’état de la littérature canadienne. En effet, le gouvernement fédéral hésitait encore à révéler qu’il soutenait des auteurs à titre individuel. La Fondation était donc un important intermédiaire de l’aide fédérale aux écrivains canadiens.

Pelham Edgar envisagea vite de lui donner un rôle plus substantiel que celui d’aider un auteur indigent parmi tant d’autres. Il continua donc à solliciter de tous côtés et à recueillir de l’argent pour la cause avec l’aide de ses amis, dont Lorne Pierce, éditeur à Ryerson Press, sir Robert Falconer, recteur de l’Université de Toronto, et Albert Robson, artiste torontois et imprimeur d’œuvres d’art. Ensemble, ils parvinrent à créer un fonds permanent, un exploit au vu des séquelles de la Grande Crise. Au cours des années 1930 et 1940, malgré de maigres ressources, la Fondation put aider notamment les romanciers Laura Goodman Salverson et Marshall Saunders et la poétesse Audrey Alexandra. La mort en 1943 de Charles G.D. Roberts (anobli en 1935) fut un tournant dans l’histoire de la Fondation : la subvention fédérale prit fin. Les mécènes durent redoubler d’efforts pour élargir et renforcer les bases de l’organisme afin d’adoucir le sort d’auteurs âgés et appauvris comme Saunders et Salverson.

À partir de 1943, Edgar et Pierce poursuivent la recherche de financement avec les directeurs de la Fondation : Wilfrid Eggleston, Gustave Lanctôt, Jean Bruchési,  Charles Clay (premier secrétaire exécutif, de 1943 à 1946) et d’autres. La Fondation est officiellement constituée en société en 1945, sous le nom de The Canadian Writers’ Foundation Inc. / La Fondation des écrivains canadiens, changement destiné à éviter la confusion avec la Canadian Authors’ Association, une autre association littéraire. À partir de 1949, la Fondation bénéficie de dons du gouvernement du Québec et de La Société des écrivains canadiens. Berthelot Brunet, pensionné de 1947 à 1968, devient le premier bénéficiaire francophone, une décision qui souligne le caractère bilingue et le mandat biculturel de l’organisation. En 1946, le gouvernement fédéral du premier ministre Mackenzie King restaure la subvention annuelle de 2500 dollars, somme qui sera ensuite portée à 6000 dollars, avant que ce type d’activités de financement ne soit confié au Conseil des Arts du Canada dont l’appui se maintiendra jusque dans les années 1970 et 1980.

Theresa E. Thompson

Theresa E. Thomson,
Bibliothèque et Archives
Canada, numéro de négatif
PA-117787

Après la mort du fondateur Pelham Edgar, en 1948, Lorne Pierce, éditeur et membre du conseil d’administration, aidé de Theresa Thomson, secrétaire exécutive et trésorière à partir de 1946 et elle-même poétesse, pilotent les efforts de longue haleine déployés pour raffermir la situation financière de la Fondation afin de mieux aider les auteurs canadiens. C’est dans cette optique qu’est créé le Pelham Edgar Memorial Fund, en 1953, pour constituer un fonds permanent. Laura Goodman Salverson, Frederick Philip Grove, Hugh MacLennan et Paul Morin figurent parmi les bénéficiaires de la FEC pendant les années 1940 et 1950. 

Le francophone Gustave Lanctôt est président de 1949 à 1955. Épaulé par Jean Bruchési, l’un des directeurs, il convainc le gouvernement fédéral d’augmenter son apport et persuade le gouvernement du Québec de devenir la première province à subventionner annuellement la Fondation. Albert Trueman, qui lui succède à la présidence de 1955 à 1957, réussit à faire augmenter encore la subvention fédérale et à obtenir des fonds de sources privées et du grand public avant de démissionner en 1957 pour diriger le Conseil des arts du Canada. À l’instar de nombre d’autres membres du bureau, il croit fermement que la Fondation ne peut accomplir son travail d’importance pour la littérature canadienne sans l’aide de particuliers autant que des gouvernements. 

Raymond C. Hull

Raymond C. Hull,
Fondation des écrivains
canadiens

C’est dans ce but qu’à partir des années 1950, des directeurs de la Fondation tels que le romancier Robertson Davies,  l’historien C.P. Stacey et le capitaine de frégate C. Herbert Little, président de 1978 à 1998, de même que les écrivains June Callwood et Pierre Berton, pressent les éditeurs, les entreprises et des particuliers de faire dons et legs. Vers la fin des années 1980, Raymond C. Hull (1919-1985), écrivain de Colombie-Britannique et co-auteur, avec Laurence J. Peter, de l’ouvrage intitulé Le Principe de Peter, une théorie de gestion dont le succès ne se dément pas, témoigne de l’importance qu’il accorde à l’action de la Fondation en léguant à celle-ci une partie de sa fortune, dont les droits d’auteur qui protègent ses nombreux livres. Aujourd’hui, la Fondation est dotée d’environ un million de dollars et pensionne plusieurs auteurs, en plus d’accorder des subventions ponctuelles à certains tout en cherchant à accroître le fonds pour aider davantage les écrivains canadiens malades ou âgés.

Bill bissett, Milton Acorn et Anne Marriott, poètes de la Colombie-Britannique, du Canada atlantique et du Manitoba, respectivement, ainsi que Berthelot Brunet, auteur québécois et Jessie Louise Beattie, écrivaine ontarienne, font partie des auteurs que la Fondation a aidés de la sorte depuis les trente dernières années. La subvention « m’a aidée à vivre plus qu’à exister. […] Vous m’avez permis de vivre détendue et heureuse  », a écrit Dorothy Livesay, bénéficiaire d’une subvention. Mais les besoins sont grands et les fonds restent limités.   

Les membres du conseil d’administration de la FEC prouvent la profondeur de leur engagement en renonçant à toute rémunération et en refusant de même volontairement le remboursement des dépenses qu’ils engagent pour participer aux deux réunions annuelles qui ont lieu à Ottawa et ailleurs. Les directeurs (actuellement au nombre de huit) sont élus pour trois ans et nomment cinq d’entre eux au bureau chaque année (y compris la reconduction de certains mandats). La Fondation, enregistrée comme organisme caritatif, bénéficie des services d’un secrétaire exécutif à temps partiel rémunéré. Elle a reçu à ce jour des subventions de la Canadian Authors’ Association, de la Société d’encouragement aux écrivains du Canada ainsi que d’autres sources, énumérées ci‑dessus. Actuellement, elle compte sur son fonds de dotation et sur la générosité de particuliers. À cette fin et pour renseigner la communauté littéraire canadienne dans les deux langues officielles, elle a un site Web bilingue. Pour recevoir l’aide de la FEC, les candidats doivent être auteurs, avoir contribué de manière importante à la littérature canadienne, être âgés de 60 ans ou plus, résider au Canada, avoir un handicap ou être incapables de gagner un revenu suffisant et ne pas toucher de revenus annuels supérieurs à 21 500 $.

Pour communiquer avec la Fondation, il suffit de consulter le site Web, d’écrire à l’adresse C. P. 13281, Succursale Kanata, Ottawa (Ontario)  K2K 1X4, à info@canadianwritersfoundation.org ou, par télécopieur, au numéro 613 256‑5457. Le numéro de téléphone est le 613 257‑6937.
Depuis 1952, la Fondation des écrivains canadiens confie ses dossiers à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada et en autorise la consultation par les chercheurs intéressés. Sa structure, sa charte et les modalités d’octroi des subventions ont été simplifiées au fil des ans pour adapter le financement à l’époque et permettre la formation d’un bureau efficace et représentatif, qui est actuellement composé de huit personnes. Sa présidente actuelle est Marianne Scott, ancienne administratrice générale de la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, qui a succédé en 2008 à Gilles Frappier, bibliothécaire de la ville d’Ottawa et président de 1998 à 2008. La tenue de la réunion du 60e anniversaire de la Fondation à Rideau Hall en 1991 a mis en lumière le rôle du gouverneur général à l’égard de l’organisme. Suivant la tradition, d’ailleurs, l’actuel gouverneur général figure parmi les mécènes.

Depuis quelque quatre-vingts ans, des auteurs d’horizons aussi divers que la journaliste June Callwood, (« Cette organisation mérite notre aide et notre gratitude à tous. ») et la romancière Marie‑Claire Blais (« […] il faut que cette aide puisse l’appuyer afin  qu’il [l’écrivain] puisse écrire dans la paix et la dignité, car ce respect lui est dû » ) ont témoigné de l’importance vitale de la mission de la Fondation auprès des auteurs les plus talentueux d’un pays où, malheureusement, nombre d’écrivains accomplis et inventifs souffrent de la maladie, de la pauvreté et de la vieillesse, même au XXIe siècle.

SOURCES

Adams, James. « Making the literary life a little less precarious », Globe and Mail, Toronto, 14 février 2009.


The Collected Letters of Sir Charles G.D. Roberts, Laurel Boone (dir.), Fredericton, Goose Lane, 1989.


Campbell, Sandra. Both Hands: A Life of Lorne Pierce of Ryerson Press, Montréal, McGill-Queen’s, University Press, 2013.

 Canadian Literary Career of Professor Pelham Edgar, thèse de doctorat inédite, Département d’anglais, Université d’Ottawa, 1983.

Canadian Writers’ Foundation Fonds, Bibliothèque et archives Canada, Ottawa, Ontario.

Dawson, Walter (pseudonyme de Don W. Thomson).  The Foundation and the Man, Toronto, édition privée [Ryerson Press], 1957, 2e édition, Ottawa, Penumbra Press, 2007.

Edgar, Pelham. « The Author’s Foundation », [Canadian Authors’ Association] Authors’ Bulletin, vol. 20, no 9 (septembre 1931).

Eggleston, Wilfrid.  Literary Friends. Ottawa:  Borealis, 1980.

Harrington, Lyn. Syllables of Recorded Time: The Story of the Canadian Authors’ Association 1921-1981. Toronto: Simon and Pierre, 1981

« $100,000 Foundation Planned », Toronto Mail, 2 avril 193

Pacey, Desmond, ed. The Collected Letters of Frederick Philip Grove.    Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1976.

Winston, Iris.  “Helping Impoverished Authors.” Ottawa Citizen: 13 November 2011.   



  (1) Sur Pelham Edgar et la création de la Fondation, lire Sandra Campbell. The Canadian Literary Career of Professor Pelham Edgar, thèse de doctorat, Université d’Ottawa, 1983, p. 157, 274-277.

  (2) Walter Dawson (pseudonyme de Donald W. Thomson), The Foundation and the Man (2e édition, Manotick, Ontario, Penumbra Press, 2007), p. 13 [notre traduction]. C’est cette chronique autorisée, outre le fonds FEC, qui est la source de la chronologie présentée ici.

  (3) Dorothy Livesay, extraits d’une lettre citée dans des procès-verbaux de 1992 et 1997 de la FEC : CWF notes from Minutes of 1931-2012, sous la direction de Suzanne Williams, n.p.

  (4) Mmes Callwood [notre traduction] et Blais sont citées par Gwen Hoover et Marianne Scott dans l’introduction rédigée par celles-ci pour The Foundation and the Man de Dawson, p. 9 et 10.

 

 

Retour en haut

Facebook

History

An Overview of the History of the Canadian Writers’ Foundation
by Sandra Campbell.

The Canadian Writers’ Foundation, or La Fondation des écrivains canadiens inc., is a non-profit charitable organization, founded in 1931, which provides financial support to accomplished senior Canadian writers in need of assistance due to age or chronic illness.   The Foundation currently has an eight- member, unremunerated board of directors, which meets in Ottawa, as well as numerous advisors from across Canada.  The Foundation offers pensions and one-time grants, drawn from its endowment, to needy Canadian writers, both anglophone and francophone. The identity of writers receiving support is always kept confidential during their lifetimes.   Past recipients of financial aid, most on a long-term basis, have included such distinguished Canadian writers as the late Dorothy Livesay, Scott Symons, Yves Theriault, Norman Levine, Mavis Gallant, Irving Layton and many others.

First formed by Professor Pelham Edgar of Victoria College, University of Toronto and his allies across Canada in 1931 as the Canadian Authors’ Foundation, this philanthropic body was subsequently chartered on 2 March 1945, as the Canadian Writers’ Foundation, Inc.. (Campbell, 1983) (1)  The Foundation’s chronicler,  Walter Dawson (the pseudonym of Donald  W. Thomson)  in his The Foundation & the Man (1959 , repr. 2007), a history of the organization,  has  reminded Canadians that  the Foundation’s Declaration of Trust  describes its purpose,  namely “to create, provide and enlarge a perpetual fund for the benefit of any man or woman of distinction in Canadian letters or any dependent or dependents thereof, or for the benefit of any person who shall have made a notable contribution to Canadian letters, when such men or  women  shall find themselves in destitution.” (2)  This mandate has animated the Foundation, its officers and supporters since its inception, despite formidable fund-raising challenges in the early years.

HISTORY

Writing in Canada has historically been a financially precarious profession, with many accomplished full-time writers earning royalties and other income at a rate below the poverty line, with no formal provision for occupational pensions in later life.  The availability of Canada Council and other grants, and of government-sponsored royalty payments for library holdings of an authors’ book, for example, is of relatively recent origin.  Moreover, in this country, private philanthropy has never been as substantial or as traditional as, for example, in the United States.  Furthermore, Canada, unlike Britain, has never had a Civil List to aid needy writers -- although the province of Quebec has historically been more disposed to aid its writers than has the rest of Canada.

Charles G.D. Robers

Charles G.D. Roberts,
Queen’s University Archives

The genesis of the Canadian Writers’ Foundation came out of the perpetually straitened circumstances of one of Canada’s best-known turn of the nineteenth century poets in his later years.  Circa 1930, the penury of writer Charles G.D. Roberts (1860-1943), the pioneering poet of the Confederation era in Canadian literature, led to the formation of what is now the CWF.  That is to say, by the advent of the Great Depression,  Roberts, back in Canada after decades of living abroad,  was elderly and in dire need of financial support.  During their careers, both Roberts and his equally famous cousin, poet Bliss Carman (1861-1929), were not only leading writers but of necessity experts at juggling insufficient funds and securing personal loans from admirers here and abroad. Why? Theirs was a Canada with a small and scattered literary market and various copyright anomalies injurious to many Canadian writers. 

Raymond C. Hull

Pelham Edgar,
Victoria University Library
(Toronto)

Professor Pelham Edgar (1871-1948) of the English Department at Victoria College -- well-known since early in the twentieth century as a literary critic and mentor to writers like E.J. Pratt, Duncan Campbell Scott, Raymond Knister and Northrop Frye -- resolved in the midst of the Depression to find a way to financially aid Roberts, who had been living a precarious financial existence in Toronto since the mid-1920s. Thanks to demarches across Canada during  1931, aided by a railway pass from John Murray Gibbon,  man of letters and official  of the Canadian Pacific Railway, Pelham Edgar roused  interested Canadian book lovers and philanthropists – including Ottawa newspaper  publisher  P.D. Ross,  poet  and civil servant Duncan Campbell Scott, Alberta writer and police magistrate Emily Murphy (“Janey Canuck”) and  many others ,  to appeal to the federal government to support  Roberts.

Thanks to Edgar’s persistent lobbying of the federal government and of Lord Bessborough, the Canadian governor general of the day, the Conservative government of Prime Minister R.B. Bennett ultimately agreed to provide an annual sum (initially $2500) for Roberts’ support.   It is telling that, at its inception, the sum was masked in federal budget estimates under the guise of funds allegedly allocated to the Foundation for a projected report on the state of Canadian literature. The federal government was still reluctant to be publicly seen to be supporting individual Canadian writers, and the Foundation was an important conduit for early federal support of Canadian authors.

Edgar envisioned a greater role for the Foundation than the support of just one needy writer among many. He continued to lobby and fundraise for the cause with the help of allies like publisher Lorne Pierce of Ryerson Press, University of Toronto president Sir Robert Falconer and Toronto artist and art printer Albert Robson. They worked toward the establishment of a permanent endowment for the Foundation, a difficult feat in the Depression and its aftermath. Despite the Foundation’s meagre resources, writers aided in the 1930s and 1940s included novelists Laura Goodman Salverson and Marshall Saunders and poet Audrey Alexandra Brown.   The death of Charles (since 1935 Sir Charles) G.D. Roberts in 1943 marked an evolution in the history of the Foundation: the federal grant lapsed.  As a result, efforts to put the Foundation on a broader and more secure footing intensified, given the plight of aged and impoverished writers like Saunders and Salverson.

 From 1943, Edgar, Pierce, and board members Wilfrid Eggleston, Gustave Lanctot, Jean Bruchesi and Charles Clay (its first Executive Secretary, 1943-1946) and others, continued to work to raise more funds.  The Foundation was formally incorporated in 1945, with a name change to The Canadian Writers’ Foundation Inc./La Fondation des écrivains canadiens, a change  made to avoid confusion with another literary organization,  the Canadian Authors’ Association.  From 1949, annual financial donations were received from the government of Quebec and La Société des écrivains canadiens, with Berthelot Brunet becoming the first francophone beneficiary of the Foundation (1947-1968), a decision that underlined the Foundation’s bilingual and bicultural mandate.  In 1946, the federal government under Prime Minister Mackenzie King reinstated the Foundation’s annual grant of $2500, a grant which eventually rose to $6000 before this particular funding responsibility was transferred to the Canada Council, whose financial involvement continued through the 1970s and 1980s.

Theresa E. Thompson

Theresa E. Thomson,
Library and Archives Canada,
copy negative number
PA-117787

After the death of CWF founder Pelham Edgar in 1948, Lorne Pierce, publisher and board member, with the help of CWF executive secretary-treasurer from 1946, Theresa Thomson (herself a poet) spearheaded the long effort to put the Foundation on firmer financial ground to better aid Canadian writers. Part of the strategy was the setting up of the Pelham Edgar Memorial Fund in 1953 to work toward giving the organization a permanent endowment.  CWF beneficiaries in the 1940s and 1950s included Salverson, Frederick Philip Grove, Hugh MacLennan and Paul Morin. 

Francophone Gustave Lanctot served as CWF president from 1949 to 1955; during his term, aided by board member Jean Bruchesi, Lanctot persuaded the federal government to increase its grant and the government of Quebec to become the first province to grant annual funding.  Albert Trueman,   Lanctot’s successor as president (1955-57), was able to effect another increase in the federal grant and to effectively fundraise from private sources and the general public before resigning to head the Canada Council in 1957.  Trueman – like the Foundation executive generally -- believed strongly that the Foundation must enlist the support of individual Canadians as well as government funding in carrying out its important work for Canadian literature. 

Raymond C. Hull

Raymond C. Hull,
The Canadian Writers’
Foundation

To this end, from the 1950s, such Foundation board members as novelist Robertson Davies,  historian C.P. Stacey,  and  Commander C. Herbert  Little, Foundation president from 1978 to 1998, as well as writers June Callwood and Pierre Berton,  lobbied publishers,  companies and individual Canadians to donate to the Foundation, whether by individual  offerings or planned bequests. In the late 1980s, British Columbia writer Raymond C. Hull (1919-1985),  co-author (with Laurence J. Peter) of the perennial management theory bestseller,  The Peter Principle,  recognised the importance of the Foundation’s work by willing a portion of his estate – including copyright to his many works -- to the Foundation.  Today, the Foundation has an endowment fund of approximately one million dollars and provides pensions to  several  writers, as well as offering one-time grants on an individual case basis, even as it seeks to expand its endowment funds to offer wider support to elderly or ill Canadian writers.

 Writers aided in the last thirty years include BC poet Bill bissett, Atlantic Canada poet Milton Acorn, Manitoba poet Anne Marriott, Quebec writer Berthelot Brunet and Ontario writer Jessie Louise Beattie.  In the words of another grantee, West coast writer Dorothy Livesay, the grant “allowed [me] to do things beyond mere existence ... you have made me relaxed and happy.” (3) The need is great: the funds are limited. 

To emphasize their commitment, CWF board members are not compensated for their servicesor for any expenses involved in attending meetings.  Directors (currently eight in number) are elected for a three-year term.  The Foundation, a registered charity, has a part-time paid Executive Secretary.  In the past, grants have been received from the Canadian Authors’ Association, and the Writers’ Trust of Canada as well as from the above-mentioned sources:  currently the Foundation relies on its endowment and on the generosity of individual Canadians to sustain its vital work.  To that end, and to provide information to the Canadian literary community in both official languages, the Foundation maintains a bilingual website. For CWF assistance, eligibility stipulations include that an applicant for assistance must be a writer of significant literary achievement who is 60 years of age or over, be resident in Canada for CWF pension eligibility, be infirm or unable to earn adequate income, and have an annual income of $21,500 or less.    There is also a Special Circumstances grant programme for consideration of short term grants from applicants who are 55 years of age or over whose income is below the poverty level.

Since 1952, the records of the Canadian Writers’ Foundation have been deposited at Library and Archives Canada, with permission for access available to interested researchers from the Foundation itself.  The structure, constitution and granting procedures of the Canadian Writers’ Foundation have been streamlined over the years to offer realistic funding for the times in question, as well as to create an efficient and representative board that currently stands at eight members with former national librarian Marianne Scott as president since 2008; she succeeded Ottawa librarian Gilles Frappier (1998-2008). The role of the governor general in encouraging the Foundation since its inception was underlined in 1991, when the Foundation’s 60th anniversary meeting was held at Rideau Hall.  The current governor general is -- as is customary -- a patron of the Foundation.

Over the last eight decades, writers as diverse as journalist  June Callwood (“This organization deserves the help and gratitude of us all) and novelist Marie-Claire Blais (“... il faut que cette aide puisse l’appuyer afin  qu’il [l’écrivain] puisse écrire dans la paix et la dignité, car ce respect lui est dû ») (4)  have testified to the vital mission of the Canadian Writers’ Foundation to  offer financial aid  to  gifted writers  in a Canada where, regrettably, many  accomplished creative writers continue to struggle with old age,  illness and poverty, even in the 21st century.

 

SOURCES

Adams, James. “Making the literary life a little less precarious.”  Globe and Mail (Toronto): 14 February 2009.


Boone, Laurel, ed.  The Collected Letters of Sir Charles G.D. Roberts.  Fredericton: Goose Lane, 1989.

Campbell, Sandra.  Both Hands: A Life of Lorne Pierce of Ryerson Press.   Montreal: McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2013.

The Canadian Literary Career of Professor Pelham Edgar,” unpublished doctoral dissertation, Dept of English, University of Ottawa, 1983.

Canadian Writers’ Foundation Fonds.  Library and Archives Canada. Ottawa, Ontario.

Dawson, Walter (pseudonym of Don W. Thomson).  The Foundation & the Man.  Toronto: privately printed [Ryerson Press], 1957.  Second Edition, Ottawa:  Penumbra Press, 2007.

Edgar, Pelham. “The Author’s Foundation,” [Canadian Authors’ Association] Authors’ Bulletin20 (September 1931), 9.

Eggleston, Wilfrid.  Literary Friends. Ottawa:  Borealis, 1980.

Harrington, Lyn. Syllables of Recorded Time: The Story of the Canadian Authors’ Association 1921-1981. Toronto: Simon and Pierre, 1981

“$100,000 Foundation Planned,” Toronto Mail, 2 April 1931.

Pacey, Desmond, ed. The Collected Letters of Frederick Philip Grove.    Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1976.

Winston, Iris.  “Helping Impoverished Authors.” Ottawa Citizen: 13 November 2011.   


  (1) For an account of Pelham Edgar and the founding of the Foundation, see Sandra Campbell, “The Canadian Literary Career of Professor Pelham Edgar,” doctoral dissertation, University of Ottawa, 1983, 157, 274-277.

  (2) Walter Dawson {pseudonym of Donald W. Thomson], The Foundation & the Man (second edition, Manotick, Ontario: Penumbra Press, 2007), 13. This authorized history is the source, in company with the CWF fonds, is the source for the chronology of the organization.

  (3) Dorothy Livesay,  letter excerpts,  quoted in 1992 and 1997 CWF Minutes, Suzanne Williams, editor,  “CWF notes from Minutes of 1931-2012,”   n.p.

  (4) Callwood and Blais are quoted in Gwen Hoover and Marianne Scott, “Introduction” to Dawson,   The Foundation & the Man, 9-10...

 

 

 

Return to Top